top of page

Science-A-Thon 2019

October 14-18, 2019

In 2019, Science-A-Thon welcomed five incredible Keynote Scientists: Marshall Shepherd, Jane Lubchenco, Dawn Wright, Ned Segal, and Jacquelyn Gill.


Dr. J. Marshall Shepherd is a world-renowned weather and climate expert. He currently serves as a Georgia Athletic Association Distinguished Professor of Geography and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Georgia and is the host of The Weather Channel’s award-winning podcast Weather Geeks. Dr. Shepherd was the 2013 President of the American Meteorological Society (AMS) – the nation’s oldest and most prominent organization in the atmospheric and related sciences, and a two-time Science-A-Thon sponsor! He was the first African American to receive a PhD from the Florida State University Department of Meteorology and the second to lead the AMS. As a result of his accomplished career, Dr. Shepherd is a Senior Contributor to Forbes magazine as well as a weather and climate authority for broadcasting stations such as CBS, NOVA, The Today Show, CNN, and Fox News. He was honored by President Bush in 2004 with a Presidential Early Career Award.

Click here to see Marshall Shepherd's #dayofscience!


Dr. Jane Lubchenco is a distinguished environmental scientist and an enthusiastic advocate of sharing science with the public. She served as the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere and the Administrator of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) from 2009-2013 and was nominated by President Obama in 2008 as part of his “Science Dream Team”. Prior to that, Dr. Lubchenco was the President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), founded the Aldo Leopold Leadership Program and COMPASS for science communication training for scientists, and co-founded the Climate Central non-profit organization for climate change science communication.

Click here to see Jane Lubchenco's #dayofscience!


Dr. Dawn Wright is an expert marine geologist, seafloor mapper, and the current Chief Scientist of the Environmental Systems Research Institute (aka Esri), a world-leading geographic information system (GIS) software and data science company. In addition to her work as a Esri Chief Scientist, Dr. Wright is a Professor of Geography and Oceanography at Oregon State University, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the Geological Society of America, the California Academy of Sciences, and the Leopold Leadership Program. She also holds lifetime achievement awards from the American Association of Geographers and the Geological Society of America.

Click here to see Dawn Wright's #dayofscience!


CFO @Twitter, dad, husband, proud San Franciscan, Giants fan, chocolate chip cookie connoisseur

Click here to see Ned Segal's #dayofscience!


Dr. Jacquelyn Gill is an internationally recognized paleoecologist and an outspoken science communications advocate. She is an Associate Professor of Paleoecology & Plant Ecology and the Director of the BEAST Lab at the University of Maine. In addition to her passion for research and teaching, Dr. Gill is also dedicated to sharing science with the public! She is a co-host of the podcast Warm Regards and author of the blog “The Contemplative Mammoth”, welcoming conversations and advice on science, early career academia, and diversity in STEM.

Click here to see Jacquelyn Gill's #dayofscience!

Thank you to our 2019 sponsors:
Copy of AMSlogoFull-web.png

Science-A-Thon 2019 Participants

bottom of page